Monday, September 30, 2013

THE TWIN'S REVIEW: A Double Feature- Ethan's Mate (J.S. Scott) & Switched (Amanda Hocking)




 
 

Title: Ethan's Mate
 
Author: J. S. Scott
 
Format:Ebook
 
Series: The Vampire Coalition
 
ASIN: B007YJ3JV2
 
Published April 27th 2012 by Scott Erotica
 
Source of copy: Google Play
 
Summary:
 
Ethan Hale is a vampire with a mission. Together with his three brothers and a few other unmated members, he fights with The Vampire Coalition to protect humans from fallen vampires. His life is fairly simple. If he has a problem...he solves it. If it's an evil problem...he kills it. But his
uncomplicated life is about to end when his mate unexpectedly calls him to her.

Brianna Cole is weak, her life force fading away. She thinks she is suffering from a rare form of leukemia. Little does she knows that her illness is much more complicated. She's dying because she has not united with her vampire mate and given him his soul that she has been guarding since birth.

Ethan finds Brianna and knows he needs to convince her to mate or watch her die. He's waited for her for five hundred years and he has no intention of letting her go, but she is not in any shape for the dominate, volatile mating ceremony with a vampire. He will have to win the race against time to strengthen Brianna and a battle with a stalking fallen to claim his mate. He is also at war with his mating instincts that make him burn to dominate and conquer her. But Ethan is determined, and the stubborn vampire will do whatever is necessary to possess his soul bonded mate...forever.

18+ ONLY - This book contains graphic sex, graphic language, rough sex, domination, bondage and other subjects that are intended for adults only. This is a romance but contains very erotic content. It is not a true BDSM novella, so if you prefer the SM element you won't find it here. There's no real pain inflicted. It is more romance with alpha male domination being part of the
vampire nature and mating instincts. However, it does contain all of the above
sexual content in the 18+ warning. Download only if you love a little (or maybe a lot) of kink and heat in you alpha male vampires romances. : )

 
(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)
 
Review:
Lisa:
I enjoyed this book for a short Novella. Scott has wrote better but this sets up for a good series. I like the story line. there is a lot of potential and I look forward to reading more. I like the twist in Scott is world of vampires finding a mate. The mating mark is interesting. I love the badass Hale brothers. They are an interesting group. Brianna's spirit is amazing considering she is on her death bed. Her and Ethan are great. This is the perfect read for vampire lovers, but does not appeal to all adult readers. If your a vampire fan pick it up.
 
Rating:
 
Leann:
So Lisa usually reads the short stories but this series caught my eye as well as hers. However I disagree with her. For a short story I really loved it. I also love that there are more stories to the series. I love how Scott brought this story together. It was a lot of fun to read. Short and Sweet. It didn't take me long to read but I was completely wrapped up in it. And like Lisa I like the idea behind the mating mark. I thought the relationships between the characters were interesting and fun. Overall a great read and I can't wait to dive into the next set.
 
Rating:
 
 
 
 
 
 
Title: Switched
 
Author: Amanda Hocking
 
Series: Tyrlle
 
Format:Paperback
 
ISBN13: 9781250006318
 
Published January 3rd 2012 by St. Martin's Griffin
 
Source of copy: Barnes and Noble
 
Summary:
 
When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel—all because of Finn Holmes.

Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her. Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken…though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit. But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth: Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth—and he’s come to take her home.

Now Wendy’s about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that’s both beautiful and frightening. And where she must leave her old life behind to discover who she’s meant to become…

This edition includes the bonus story "The Vittra Attacks".
 
(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)
 
Review:
Lisa:
So I was roaming the book isles wondering what to get to read when a girl walks up and says "you look like you need a new series."  When I say girl, She was 16 maybe 17. So I laugh and say" Yes. I do. Do you work here? What's popular?"
She laughs and says "No, I don't work here. I don't like reading much either, but I loved this series." She pointed to it. I was thinking... ok doesn't like to read but she still likes this book. Might be worth a try. She goes on saying " You will love it I promise."
Now that I have read the book I wish I could thank the girl. I did love it. I have never read anything like it. A great book on trolls, who would have thought. Hocking did an amazing job. beautifully written and entertaining. Action, romance, pain, loss, a secret world and more. Once I researched Hocking I was shocked to find this was her first novel. She is truly talented and I look forward to more from her. I love her character Wendy. She is a wonderfully written character. I was pulled in after just a few pages. A must read for all YA fans.
 
Leann:
Well at least we agree on this review. I loved this book. Lisa called me one day and told me I had to check out this new series she had discovered. I was like um... I already have. Of course she was like why didn't you tell me about this earlier. But back to my review...
 
I love the characters. Wendy is great. I really enjoyed the background to this story and the depth. It was a fun read. I read this book very quickly. (Only because I couldn't put it down.) I love when I find a story that doesn't really compare much to other series. I mean Trolls? Who would have thought I would enjoy a book about Trolls. It was surprisingly good.
 
Rating:
 
 
 
 
 
 
&
 
 
 
 

Sunday, September 29, 2013

LISA'S REVIEW: Dark Lover (J.R. Ward) Black Dagger Brotherhood #1

Title: Dark Lover

Author: J.R. Ward

Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood'

Format: paperback

Published September 6th 2005 by Signet Eclipse

ISBN13: 9780451216953

Summary:

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.


(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)

Review:

I had seen the book before but never picked them up. then one day I thought why not. I was so mad at myself for waiting. I am now a devoted Black Dagger Brotherhood fan, and this book started it all.

Wrath the Blind ring is a tempting character full of power but, Darius is the man that gets me hooked for just his short appearance.

Beth is a great character and fun match for Wrath. The whole story is a great read. I love the way it is writing. Some danger, humor, love, lust, and just plain exciting.

 I recommend to any vampire lovers that Dark Lover is a must read. these tormented brother who fight evil are hard to resist. Pick it up and get lost in this world. I know I did.

 

 

Rating:
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

LEANN'S REVIEW: Beautiful Redemption (Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl) Caster Chronicles #4

Title: Beautiful Redemption

Authors: Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl

Series: Caster Chronicles

Format: Hardcover

Published October 23rd 2012 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

ISBN13: 9780316123532

Source of copy: Barnes and Noble

Summary:

Is death the end . . . or only the beginning?

Ethan Wate has spent most of his life longing to escape the stiflingly small Southern town of Gatlin. He never thought he would meet the girl of his dreams, Lena Duchannes, who unveiled a secretive, powerful, and cursed side of Gatlin, hidden in plain sight. And he never could have expected that he would be forced to leave behind everyone and everything he cares about. So when Ethan awakes after the chilling events of the Eighteenth Moon, he has only one goal: to find a way to return to Lena and the ones he loves.

Back in Gatlin, Lena is making her own bargains for Ethan's return, vowing to do whatever it takes -- even if that means trusting old enemies or risking the lives of the family and friends Ethan left to protect.

Worlds apart, Ethan and Lena must once again work together to rewrite their fate, in this stunning finale to the Beautiful Creatures series.



(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)



Review:

This review is a little bitter sweet. I was happy with the book, although it was very different from the previous books in this series. I am sad the series ended. It is bitter sweet because... I hated the characters that we lost. I was very sad about it, but at the same time I understand why it needed to happen. I respect the fact that the authors didn't just make this a fairy tale. Not every happy ending is met.

Overall I really enjoyed the series. It had a lot of depth and caused a few sleepless nights for me (shouldn't have started reading so late). The plot and characters were strong and entertaining. Maybe I didn't like this book as well as the other because I knew it was the last one. I really have nothing bad to say about this book. In fact, I really enjoyed it.

It had everything a book I love should have, and I found certain parts a bit unpredictable. I always love when authors can catch me off guard. So would I recommend this book? YES. I would recommend this entire series. It was great!!


Rating:
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 






 

 

Saturday, September 28, 2013

LEANN'S REVIEW: Silver Borne (Patricia Briggs) Mercy Thompson #5

Title: Silver Borne

Author: Patricia Briggs

Series: Mercy Thompson

Format: Hardcover

Published March 30th 2010 by Ace Books

ISBN13: 9780441018192

Source of Copy: Bought at Barnes and Noble

Summary:

Being a mechanic is hard work. Mercy Thompson, for instance, just spent the last couple of months trying to evade the murderous queen of the local vampire seethe. And now the leader of the werewolf pack, who's maybe-more-than-just-a-friend, has asked for her help. A book of fae secrets has come to light and they're all about to find out how implacable - and dangerous - the fae can be.

OK, so maybe her troubles have nothing to do with the job. But she sure could use a holiday...



(Image and information courtesy of 
Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)


Review:

I love the cover of these books. This one is no different. What is better is the stories within. Briggs has yet to let me down. I am completely caught up in the characters. Every time I crack the cover of one of the books I leave my small home town and enter the tri-cities.

This might be one of my favorite in the series up to this point. We see a lot more of the pack hierarchy and Mercy's accepts the pack. We also learn more about Adam as a character and of course fall for that character even more. But this story really features our favorite lost werewolf Sam.

There are a few scenes that are completely heart wrenching. While the action held true in this book, we seen more romance and relationship development. I still love Mercy's kick ass character.

This book was a great read and I picture myself revisiting this book again. I was on the edge of my seat and truly cannot wait for the next installment.

Rating: