Thursday, November 14, 2013

LISA'S REVIEW: Cold to the Touch (Frances Fyfield) Sarah Fortune #6

Title: Cold to the Touch

Author: Frances Fyfield

Series: Sarah Fortune Mystery

Format: ARC

Source of copy: witness impulse HarperCollins

ISBN13: 9780062301871

Expected publication: December 3rd 2013 by Witness Impulse


A tense psychological thriller ideal for fans of Faye Kellerman and Louise Penny.

Things are not going well for prestigious lawyer and professional mistress Sarah Fortune. Her life is a mess, but it would be so much simpler to try and fix somebody else's. So when she meets the vulnerable and troubled Jessica Hurley, Sarah feels she must save her.

Jessica longs to return to the small village where she grew up, but she has burned all her bridges. Instead, Sarah travels to Jessica's cloistered hometown to repair the wreckage of her friend's past—and to solve the mystery of why she left in the first place.

But when Sarah arrives, she finds that Jessica is even more unwelcome than she thought, and suddenly Jessica is missing, her number unavailable. Sarah's increasingly desperate search for her tortured friend takes her to places even colder than the grave.

About the Author:

Frances Fyfield         

The United Kingdom    

About this author

Aka Frances Hegarty.

Frances Fyfield is a criminal lawyer, who lives in London and in Deal, by the sea which is her passion. She has won several awards, including the CWA Silver Dagger.
(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)
As a Fyfield fan I was excited to read this book. This book was slow to start for me. Changing point of views quickly and from the point of view of Jessica who was a scatter brain type of character to say the least. This is not Fyfields best but its still well worth the read.
Once we got into Sarah's life the book kicked started. I really enjoy her character. Fyfield did an amazing job creating Sarah! Pennyvale was a great community to read about the way Fyfield described it. I felt I was there with Sarah meeting the small town people.
The book has a great vibe that drags you in and has you begging to discover the mystery of Jessica Hurley. I loved many of the characters, Jeremy and Jack were a fun pair. Sam was as well.
Once I got through the first few chapters I could not put this book down. Had the beginning been as good as the rest I would give this book 4 moons for a great read. Fyfield creates a book to get lost in and hunt for the killer!

Check it out on the following sites...

No comments:

Post a Comment