Wednesday, December 4, 2013

LISA'S REVIEW: Blood on the Tongue (Stephen Booth) Cooper & Fry #3

Title: Blood on the Tongue

Author: Stephen Booth

Series: Cooper & Fry Mystery

Format: ARC

ISBN13: 9780062302007

Published December 3rd 2013 by Witness Impulse


Stephen Booth returns with an evocative thriller perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

It's a new year for Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new mysteries to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter.

It isn't the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Her demise is horrifying. Is it also suspicious?

When two more bodies are found, Cooper and Fry begin to wonder whether these tragedies are connected—and whether they will survive the winter …

(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)


Another great read by Booth. Well written and super interesting. I absolutely love Ben's character. Diane pisses me off a lot. She gets better in the end but not much. I think the first book is the best, but this is still great.

I love the ties to WWII. That is my favorite time in history to study, so I really enjoyed the connection. The side characters are good, but I have loved his other characters better in previous books.

Booth wrote beautiful scenic scenes, but at times it became detracting from the  story. I recommend to all crime/mystery lovers.






Check the book out on




No comments:

Post a Comment