Tuesday, January 7, 2014

LISA'S REVIEW: Blind to the Bones (Stephen Booth) Cooper & Fry #4

Title: Blind to the Bones

Author: Stephen Booth

Series: Cooper & Fry Mystery

Format: ARC

ISBN13: 9780062301994

Published January 7th 2014 by Witness Impulse


This taut, atmospheric thriller is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Peter James.

A death in the family from hell brings detectives Fry and Cooper to a remote and unfriendly rural community in their fourth psychological thriller.

“And as it grew dark, Withens became almost entirely silent. Except for the screaming.”

A small village in the Peak District, Withens is troubled by theft and vandalism, mostly generated by a family of local delinquents, the Oxleys. Now the town is the focus of a murder investigation. A man’s body has been found on the bleak moors nearby, and the victim is an Oxley. To crack the case, DC Ben Cooper must break open the degenerate clan.

His boss, DS Diane Fry, is also in Withens. Grim new evidence has turned up in the case of a missing student, but her parents refuse to believe she could be dead.

The darkness in Withens’s heart is growing. And things are only going to get nastier …

(Image and information courtesy of Goodreads; Summary lifted from actual book)


I must say I am hooked on this series. They are slow to read and have very wordy descriptive scenes but booth depicts the lives of those involved in the mysteries so well. I get lost in the story.

I love the back and forth between Cooper and Fry and I am excited to keep reading their story slowly develop behind all of the crime and mystery. I liked having Fry's sister come into this book since we see Cooper's ties to the area and his family in pervious books but never really get to see Fry's. A great addition to a very good crime series!!!

Check it out on Amazon




No comments:

Post a Comment